I like to think of Harriet Tubman

First life is a lot of work right now, but it is also fun: I am rediscovering Christian Wolff, the American-German composer. Here are some wonderful improvisations. And here are trio improvisations from Dartmouth festival. I am actually quite addicted to some of his pieces which I only got on CD – “I like to think of Harriet Tubman”, a piece with voice based on a great poem of the same title by Susan Griffin:

I like to think of Harriet Tubman.
Harriet Tubman who carried a revolver,
who had a scar on her head from a rock thrown
by a slave-master (because she
talked back), and who

had a ransom on her head
of thousands of dollars and who
was never caught, and who
had no use for the law
when the law was wrong,
who defied the law. I like
to think of her.
I like to think of her especially when I think of the problem of feeding children.

I want them to think about Harriet Tubman,
and remember,
remember she was beat by a white man
and she lived
and she lived to redress her grievances,

and she lived in swamps
and wore the clothes of a man
bringing hundreds of fugitives from

slavery, and was never caught,
and led an army,
and won a battle,
and defied the laws
because the laws were wrong, I want men
to take us seriously I am tired wanting them to think
about right and wrong.
I want them to fear.
I want them to feel fear now
as I have felt suffering in the womb, and
I want them
to know
that there is always a time
there is always a time to make right
what is wrong,
there is always a time
for retribution
and that time
is beginning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

